Feedback & quick and dirty edits for: How to Learn to Code & Get a Developer Job

I really enjoyed Quincy’s new book and have some quick and dirty edits below for you:

Guide:
1st line is a bigger quote to help you find the location
2nd line is a shorter quote to help highlight any issue
3rd line is potential correction (unless I made a mistake! :))

Have I’ve sold you on coding as a good career for you? Then here’s what you need to do to break into the field.
Have I’ve sold you
Have I sold you on

But just the fact the he said it gave me butterflies.
the fact the he
the fact that he

And just as importantly, you will not have the all the time on your hands that a recent high school graduate would have.
you will not have the all the time on your hands
you will not have the same amount of time on your hands

By your standards, no one who wasn’t raised by wolves is really self-taught at anything.
no one who wasn’t raised by wolves is really self-taught at anything
anyone who hasn’t been raised by wolves, is not in a position to claim to be self-taught in any subject

Hackers: Heroes of the Revolution is a good book from the 1990s.
(link broken)

The guy who ran event was named Mike
who ran event
who ran the event

And though knew a lot about technology and user experience design, he didn’t know how to code.
though knew
though he knew

bunch of questions that you’re wholy unprepared
wholy
wholly

We can have button for each of them that puts the citation directly into their clipboard.
We can have button for each
We can have a button for each

But a lot of the things student cite are in books or academic papers.
things student cite
things students cite

It was an unofficial mash-up of the tech startup classics 4 Steps to the Epiphany and The Lean Startup

He smiled, and I sent him an email to with instructions for how to install it
him an email to with
him an email with

So let’s talk about you can build a strong reputation, and become sought-after by managers.