Feeling like I can't do this

I’m just starting out leaning to code, I find myself really motivated. when it comes to parts that I’m stuck on and can’t figure out. i get up and walk away and take a break but I feel like I lose my motivation to come back and start again because I just can’t seem to get it figured out. anyone else have this problem? if so how to you over come it

Hi, The most unconventional solution that I have found is to watch youtubers struggle to code. It literary put me in a good mood and I get back to it. Before, I used to watch perfectly edited videos and get discouraged.

Also, I recommend speeches by Any Harris.

1 Like

I am same like you a beginner coder. Faced the same issue.

What I am trying right now is to set fix timings of when to sit for learning to code

and

at the same time try to apply this law: Parkinson's law - Wikipedia. This is prolly the only thing in my way to become a good programmer : )

What have been thinking about trying is applying what I have been learning to try and build a website. is this a good approach for someone that’s just starting out?, or should I just focus on studying?

I have only been coding for 2 months so I understand. I have the motivation but every time I think I understand ( especially flex and nav bar) I hit a wall again. I just keep trying new challenges and watch more videos by different coders hoping that I will finally get it.
Good luck and hang in there.

1 Like

Sorry for the late reply, I reached the cap to reply on my user level.

But as a final year undergrad in Computer Engineering, my advice would be to start coding when you feel that you want to become a real programmer.

And the same thing I have heard from almost any tutorials or courses I have started doing on web development. They all say to keep coding to learn. So in this case the preferred way is code to study and this will depend on what you are interested in.

You can study to code as well as code to study!