Few questions about beginning

Questions to all those who are willing to answer.
When did you start coding(programming)?
How did you start? (Was it school or just curiosity?)
Why did you start? (Was it matter of passion or need for cash something?)
What are you doing now? (Are you satisfied with how things end up for you)?

1 Like

Not counting tweaking the HTML of my MySpace page, 2008-ish.

In college.

I was required to take 2 programming classes for my degree.

I’m a software engineer doing mostly web application stuff. I’m pretty happy with it.

1 Like
  1. When I was ~13 html/css if that counts, if not it was Visual Basic the next year.
  2. Curiosity, unfortunately my school never taught me anything like this.
  3. Passion, I just found it fascinating that I could make this ridiculously simple things and actually see it work in front of me.
  4. I’m a graduate software developer, and yeah i’m quite happy with it, i find it quite mentally draining, but i get a lot of satisfaction out of it. I am also only 6 months in however, so only time will tell.
1 Like

What is web application stuff?

Currently it means a few variations of a hybrid Angular/angularjs application with a C++ backend that runs on associated hardware.

1 Like

Early high school when I found how .bat scripts to run “batch” files on windows XP. I thought I was the coolest hacker on the block using gotos and changing the color of the console to look like fake blue screens of death.

It wasn’t until I actually went to college and realized I knew so little about programming.

I never was able to take “programming classes” in high school, so it was more of something I did in my spare time in the classes I had access to a computer, and at home on my outdated laptop. I’d bring a USB with all my tiny programs to each class so I could work on them on the side of whatever I was suppose to be doing.