.filter function

What does .filter function does and what is it’s syntax and usage ?

1 Like

How can it be combined with arrow function as it itself uses arrow ?

Hi Manav. I’m new to programming but I will try to help! A filter will filter elements from an array and create a new array with the filtered elements. So like the first example from Mozilla…

var words = ['spray', 'limit', 'elite', 'exuberant', 'destruction', 'present'];

const result = words.filter(word => word.length > 6);

Filter will go through each ‘word’ (word) from the array and only return (=>) elements as stated by the function ‘words whose length is greater than 6’ (word.length > 6). Each word it finds will then be stored in (result). I hope this helps!

1 Like

Can i take as right side of => is condition to return values that pass it ?

Yes, if I understood your sentence correctly, everything past (=>) is basically the condition the element must pass. :smile:

1 Like

Thanks for helping me out and i love unusual sentence structures…:grin:

1 Like

Glad to help! And no biggie. Hahaha.

the concept is easy to understand but doing it is much more confusing. I’m working on a filter problem in functional programming in Javascript and came across a problem in the question.

this is the question: Use the filter method to extract data
The variable watchList holds an array of objects with information on several movies. Use a combination of filter and map to return a new array of objects with only title and rating keys, but where imdbRating is greater than or equal to 8.0. Note that the rating values are saved as strings in the object and you may want to convert them into numbers to perform mathematical operations on them.

this is the answer:

// Add your code below this line

var filteredList = watchList.map(function(e) {
  return {title: e["Title"], rating: e["imdbRating"]}
}).filter((e) => e.rating >= 8);

console.log(filteredList);