Final Year Project

Hi! I am a computer science student and know a bit of mern stack. I can’t for the life of me think of a good final year project that is useful and big enough that 3 people can work on it for months. I am open to a little bit of ML or AI. Can anyone give me some ideas and tell me the technologies I will need to learn?
Thank you!

What are your interests outside of computer science? Maybe you can create a project that revolves around those interests.

There’s more ways to think about a project idea beyond just being useful. You wont be able to dedicate enough time to make something “world class”. I’d focus primarily on getting a project’s scope well defined enough you can execute it in the time you have. 3 people and a few months might seem like a lot of manpower but limited time, but even a simpler full-stack app can take up a significant amount of time to build, especially if your less experienced.

I’d consider the following when thinking of a project idea:

• what sort of project would look good on a resume?
  • what sort of project would teach you the most?
  • what sort of project would you find interesting to work on?
  • what sort of project would you want to work on at a company?
  • what sort of problems do you and your group have that you could try to solve?
  • what level of features would you want to have if you only had half of the time allotted to do it?
    • this is the question that helps define the size of work you want to do. Odds are you will need to re-evaluate this later and often to stay on track.

Since its a group project, I’d be sure to also talk to your group members about possible ideas, and get their input on what they think of the above list of projects.