Find the Longest Word in a String - Basic Algorithm Scripting Question

Tell us what’s happening:
I am trying to solve this challenge with the code below. But I am getting an error stating: Cannot assign to read only property ‘0’ of string ‘The quick brown fox jumped over the lazy dog’
What does it mean?
How can I solve it?
How can I improve my code?
And please give suggestions for my code as I’m just a beginner and trying to learn things on my own.

Your code so far

function findLongestWordLength(str) {
  var count = 0;
  var arr = [];
  for (var i = 0; i <= str.length-1; i++) {
    count++;
    if (str[i] = " ") {
      arr.push(count);
      count = 0;
    }
  }
  return Math.max(arr);
}

findLongestWordLength("The quick brown fox jumped over the lazy dog");

Your browser information:

User Agent is: Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 10.0; Win64; x64) AppleWebKit/537.36 (KHTML, like Gecko) Chrome/75.0.3770.100 Safari/537.36.

Link to the challenge:
https://learn.freecodecamp.org/javascript-algorithms-and-data-structures/basic-algorithm-scripting/find-the-longest-word-in-a-string

With this you are trying to change the value of a character of the string. Remember the difference between =, assignment operator, and == or === comparison operators

Also think about what type of value you are trying to convert with Math.max If you’re unsure what value you’re trying to convert try typeof(value) . It will tell you what type of value your variable is.

You probably already know, but you’ll if you’re debugging need to print that to the console, so use console.log()

Keep it up! You can do this :slight_smile:

1 Like

Okay. I’ll change it.
Thanks a lot!

Sure.
I am thinking of applying Math.max.apply(null, arr). I think will do.
Thanks a lot!

1 Like

No worries :slight_smile:

How did you go?

It didn’t work. :frowning:
I don’t know why.
Maybe, my code is wrong. I am checking it again now.

I think you can do it like the following.

<redacted>

Okay. I’ll try it.
Thanks.