Finding Javascript very confusing, need help

Hi!

I started learning HTML, CSS and now JavaScript since beginning of July.

Before starting to learn JavaScript I have had no experience with programming. JavaScripts BASICS, were not complicated to understand, but then I bumped into ES6, and everything like rest and spread operator, Destructuring Assignment to Assign Variables from Objects, const and let appearing in many exercises and examples, and many other stuff you see online is getting me more and more desperate and confused.

I have also read all the tutorial from W3SCHOOLS and have found no answers to many of my questions. Is there somewhere I can learn and understand step by step? I don’t mind going a little bit slower, but right now I am worried because I feel I am understanding nothing.

Every exercise makes me spend hours researching and usually the research confuses me more…

I appreciate any tips or comments.

2 Likes

I would say regarding the ES6 parts of JS, it is not important that you know how to use these but it is important for you to recognize them when you see some code.

I am pretty sure whatever ES6 code is, it can be written in the old way.

Did you understand map, reduce, filter functions?
Also knowing const and let would be good going forward.

i think it is a good thing you are reading and getting confused, that’s essentially what is supposed to happen exactly. It is a bit like one step forward, two steps back.
I think when you are faced with a coding problem that can’t be solved with what you understand, you will find yourself reaching for the stuff you don’t understand to help you and then things will click better.

but in the meantime if you want more reading, someone just asked about destructuring earlier:

And also I explained spread and rest to someone as well recently:

1 Like

I have just been looking through the ES6 section recently and it is one of the worst sections, basically because the answers are quite specific.