Freecodecamp Project: Random Quote Machine

Hello, this is my first project on Front End Libraries Projects https://codepen.io/indrasubagja/pen/pobxWeg. Tbh, I’m not really sure the way I use React and achieve every of this project is good. Feel free to give me some feedbacks. :slight_smile:

1 Like

Your project looks good @IndraSubagja.

Ocassionally, test #8 fails;
8. When the #new-quote button is clicked, my quote machine should fetch a new quote and display it in the #text element.

Timeout of 15000ms exceeded. For async tests and hooks, ensure “done()” is called; if returning a Promise, ensure it resolves.
Error: Timeout of 15000ms exceeded. For async tests and hooks, ensure “done()” is called; if returning a Promise, ensure it resolves.

This is a pretty solid effort. I just have a few suggestions for improved accessibility and responsiveness.

• At the default font size the responsiveness is very nice, handles very narrow to very wide view ports perfectly. But if I manually crank up the text size then I start running into a few problems. The “New Quote” text on the button starts to disappear. This is an easy fix, use em for height. And when I start narrowing the browser (still at a large text size) then the button and twitter link eventually overlap. I think at some point you might want to line them up in a single column for really big text sizes. You would use a CSS break point to do this but you would need to use em units for the break point so the text size is taken into account. You can get an idea of what I’m talking about looking at my quote machine: http://words-of-wisdom.surge.sh/. Narrow your browser all the way. Feel free to crank the text size up really big.