From Accountant to Software Engineer

I have been an accountant for 3 years, had an accounting bachelor honours degree and had only one 1year and 4 exams left for being a fully qualified accountant. But didn’t like my job and career.
It’s been 1.5 years as a software engineer now and it is awesome! I enjoy developing web apps, learning new things and like going to work every morning - something that was hard to as an accountant.

Before: **No previous programming experience at all, no formal qualification, a full-time job and a 1-year-old baby. ** I had no time and money for another degree, nor any expensive boot camp.

Steps:
First of all, I have to mention that because I believe it helped much, I have prayed a lot for the job. I was asking Jesus and His Mother Mary for a software engineering job like a baby asks for candy! I know this is not proper career advice, but it was important for me and maybe it will help someone who is struggling.

At the beginning I touched a little of front-end and back-end, but then decided to stick to front-end and I liked it more and it looked like it had lower entry barrier - easier to get a job without a degree. (Now I want to learn backend as well).
Mistake I did was that I was jumping from courses to courses, not finishing them and changing study material often.

I did a little bit of freeCodeCamp but didn’t even finish first certification. FreeCodeCamp is great to give you some good basics! But projects that you want to have in your portfolio should be more real life looking.

Having a nice portfolio is a must when applying for your first job! And instead of having 15 small projects there, have 5 five bigger ones. There are useful videos on youtube that tell what projects to have on portfolio.

Resources I used: freeCodeCamp, youtube: CodingPhase and TraversyMedia (and some others), and some udemy courses. I have spent maybe £40.