From Call Center Rep To Web Developer

Video Version of this post if you don’t like reading: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1jucjjHeQHY

I don’t feel like making a lot of fluff so I’ll just get to it. I use to work at a call center and hated my job. Felt like a little piece of my soul died every day I had to go into work. I knew web development was something I could learn on my own (without college) and the salaries looked pretty good too so I started learning. It took about 7-8 months to get my first job (Although I could have had a 90 Day internship (@$15/hour) after just 4 months.

How I learned

1. TeamTreeHouse - Started off with TeamTreeHouse’s front end developer tech degree. I think the quality of the projects from this are one of the big reasons I got the job. They’ve got some great intro videos that show how the internet works and they’ve got a nice curriculum planned out for you. You can submit one project a week so if you’re pushing you can finish it in 10-12 weeks;

The basic format is:
-Watch Videos to see what you can do and see how to do it
-Take quizzes to make sure you’ve got it.
-Build a project where you apply what you’ve learned.

The techdegree is pricey but you get what you pay for and I felt like if it could help me get a new job it’d be worth it.

1. FreeCodeCamp - Half way through the front end tech degree on TTH I joined FCC; While team tree house is a great way to learn, there were some projects where I’d work on a skill (maybe SASS) and then I wouldn’t touch it again. FreeCodeCamp was a great way to review the skills I’d learned and get more repetition. It’s also a different format (TTH is video, FCC is text) so you get to learn it a different way.

Another big plus with FCC is the meetups! If you live in an area where they have meetups go. I found a job through indeed but it would have been a much faster process if I was more social and went to more meetups and found a job through my network.