From mopping floors to IT consultant

From mopping floors to IT consultant

I cleaned out my locker and handed my badge to my boss. This was it, for 2 years I had worked as a night shift technician in a clean-room manufacturing environment. This meant for 12 hours a night I mopped floors, walls and ceilings in a double-gowned clean-suit and respirator to protect me from the sporicide and other cleaning chemicals. Five years after graduating university with a 4 year degree in philosophy and here I was, enough was enough. Back in high school I was an honor student, an advanced placement student. What happened?

In my spare time I had begun to fool around with code, websites, networking protocols and the like. I was inspired by YouTube gurus sharing their knowledge. I used freeCodeCamp and other websites to build my courage. I can do this! I can work with computers I told myself. I can work 9-5 at a desk and make good money, wear regular clothes and sleep at night again.

I drove home as the sun was coming up, I hated that. I had thick black trash bags duct-taped over the windows in my apartment to block the sun so I could sleep during the day. I took sleeping pills so I could sleep between shifts. This was not sustainable living.

Two weeks later I was going to community college to get a 2 year degree in computer programming. I studied Java and C++. Fast forward to graduation, this was it! Everything was working… except for one thing. I had been applying for jobs for a year now, hoping to start working immediately after graduation. I didn’t have a single response.

Weeks went by. I didn’t understand, I was a rock-solid programmer, had a degree and everything (2 degrees now as a matter of fact). I was good too, I was qualified! Employer after employer laughed in my face, “We don’t hire without experience”. But… I’m good, let me prove it! I’ve been programming night and day for over 2 years! I have a GitHub, I have a website, I have the degree and everything!