From Truck Driver to Front End Developer

Hi Campers !

I want to start learning coding as a truck driver. I am 39 years old and I work as a full time class 1 driver. Looking at how things works now I was thinking that may be is a good idea to have a second skill that can generate some income in my spare time.

As a father with three children and one of them with special needs, I want to ask you for some tips about learning code in an efficient way.
Currently I live in UK as an emigrant and my English is my second language and when I have time I study Spanish. I like learning new things all the time and when I stop learning I get bored.
My goal is to start generate some income in about 6 months and for this I am willing to learn 2-3 hours a day.

Any ideas are very welcome !

Thanks

1 Like

Success is incremental so starting somewhere is better than not starting at all… I’m also new to development, so I have decided to start with freeCodeCamp first, then maybe a dev boot camp after. Best advice I came give is work through the exercises daily to form the thinking habits. Through curiosity and persistence all things are achievable.

It’s a good idea and you should definitely pursue it full speed ahead. Having said that, six months to generating income might be a little bit too ambitious though not impossible.

Networking is good idea for everyone but particularly for someone like you from a completely different industry. Go to as many gatherings of developers as you can and meet as many people as possible who can offer you work or know someone who can offer you work. Learn what technologies and skills are in demand in your area and have a strong portfolio you can show them that emphasizes those skills.