General Javascript Advice, what levels are there?

Bit of an odd question but I’m working my way through Javascript and I’m trying to get an idea for the scope of the language.

I’m trying to get my head around higher-order functions and I still feel I’m a rookie when it comes to Javascript. So I’m trying to find out if there are certain benchmarks in terms of knowledge, i.e. if you know “x” then you are no longer a rookie, but if you haven’t learnt “y” yet you are a long way off being a pro.

Hope that makes sense, any advice would be appreciated as I feel I am slowly drowning in the depth of Javascript.

Yeah, we all remember that feeling.

First of all, JS is not infinitely deep. It is a computer language with a finite number of tools.

I think what you’re going to find is that it’s not learning the language that is the most difficult, but learning the concepts and how to apply the language to them. But yeah, your first real programming language that you try to learn deeply - that’s tough.

What is a good bench mark in terms of language? Of the top of my head, some of the more advanced topics in JS:

• this/scope/closure
  • prototype inheritance
  • IIFEs
  • OOP topics (classes, etc.)
  • FP topics
  • coercion
  • iterators
  • async
    • callbacks
    • promises
    • async/await
    • generator functions
  • currying

I always tell people that if you can read through the YDKJS book series and understand half of it, you’re on the right track at least.

But again, as a professional developer, I spend most of my time worrying about how to use these tools - I don’t obsess about the tools themselves. I’ll admit that a few of those listed above I would have to look up myself because I never use them. But most of my time is spent on higher concepts like how to architecture the code and how to implement the best algorithm. These are topics that I could discuss with a Python programmer because it really is independent of the language.