Getting discouraged by my boss

I work in IT support at my citys oncology institute.

Today my boss saw me reading and taking notes for You don’t know JS and laughed. Saying that to be a developer/programmer you need to be insanely good at math to even get close and then asked me if I was that good at math. I said no but that I was learning anyway and then he laughed again and said: “There is your answer”.

I’ve never felt discouraged in my time when coding, but this just hit me right in the heart.

EDIT: The amount of support I’ve gotten from this community is amazing. Thank you so much to everyone.

13 Likes

Tell him that Math is a skill that can be learnt. By the way, the guy who invented SASS, he sucked at Math. Just saying.

7 Likes

I suck at Integral Calculation in Maths so I guess that makes me suck at Math as well. But guess what I still passed a Technical Test and went onto an Interview on Skype and got rejected cause they needed more experience which other candidates at the time had more then me. I think algebra is the most used type of maths in programming. Integrals are for NASA.

Before Diving into Web Development I also had a perception that Programmers had to learn Advanced Maths but I was so wrong. Trust me be consistent and you will be there in no time and than you get to laugh at your boss.:wink:

1 Like

You can also follow the web development guide posted on these forums that advises to follow 30 minutes of Khan Academy each day to get better at math.

5 Likes

Already doing that :wink:

Your boss doesn’t know what he’s talking about. Is he a developer himself? Definitely don’t listen to him, and I think it’s not great of him to discourage you instead of encouraging you to keep pursuing what you like and a better career.

Honestly, to me it sounds like your boss simply doesn’t want you to eventually quit in sake of another job. Either that or he likes discouraging people as a pastime.