Getting job after 7 month studying

Hi everyone,

I just get hired a few days ago. This forum was a great source of motivation, seeing people self-taught getting a job was very inspiring to me, and helped keeping me coding everyday, so it is my turn to contribute now :slight_smile:

Context: I am french and live in Thailand, it is hard here for foreigners to get a job, I had no other choice than to be good.

How I get the Job: I meet a friendly dev at a meetup who give me this opportunity at a start-up, then the next day I started as a test period. They give me a test task that I finish fast, then they give me right away the real job.

My current job: I have to transpose an entire Angular1 platform into React (The challenging part will be to add Drag and Drop functionality).

Learning path:
Before 7 months ago, I knew a bit about wordpress stuff, and had basic html/css bootstrap knowledge, but I couldn’t make a function in PHP. My programming level was very low.

I started to learn 2 weeks Java and Android stuff with some youtube and Udemy videos, and then I shifted to React + Node.js. I chose these hype tech after considering the demand/offer of job market.

For about 1 or 2 months I focus on accomplish challenges on FFC. It teaches me the basic of JS: functions, constants, es6 (map + filter mostly), React/Redux.

My 1st project: When I had some basic understand of JS and React, I started right away an ecommerce website: https://demo-react-eco2.herokuapp.com/ (around 4 months to build).
This is a full stack app where admin can delete, create, update product. It also send email and so on…
I choose to build an ecommerce website, because its functionalities are known by everyone.

With this project, I learnt on Back-end: Node.js, express, JWT authentication/passport.
Front-end: React, Redux, Redux-Thunk, Selectors.
Best practices: composition architecture, refactoring, code splitting (for optimizing the js bundle size), compressing via express.