Good problem solver, have to look up everything!

Hey,
I have been attempting to learn to code on and off for several years. I started with VBA and SQL as I needed them for work at one time. I realised I enjoyed solving problems with code and wanted to learn more. I discovered FCC and thought learning web development would be useful and fun. I followed the tutorials but found I had to “cheat” to complete the projects by looking things up. I also didn’t understand the point and lost interest without any “real” application for what I was learning.

After a bit of a gap, I was asked to take on a “real” project - to create an interactive web form for a club. I figured I had nothing to lose by giving it a go as no-one else was volunteering and thought it might be a good way to learn. I was right, it seems I learn best when there is a purpose. I’ve learned loads as different problems have come along and I have worked out how to solve them. I’ve discovered what JSON is and what AJAX can be used for, among other things. Thing is, I have to look up everything! It’s like I can see what I need to do, but always have to look up how to do it. I understand the logic, and I can adapt code I find online or already have to solve new problems, I just can’t write code from scratch (except maybe something very basic.)

I would love to work as a developer but I don’t think I could pass a coding test. Would being a good problem solver who knows how to use code be enough to work in the field? Even if I don’t know loads of code? Is being good at Googling enough? Or should I just stick to doing it as a hobby to help people out?