Got a Job at JP Morgan Chase

Hello everyone, I wanted to share my story here. I just started to work for JP Morgan Chase last week. I want this story to be a reference point to measure yourself and motivate you. It’s a long story, but let’s start.

First of all, I want to thank Clint Myer, a member of FCC in Dallas for helping and advocating me along the way. He has given me a lot of advice and referred me to opportunities he knew. He is the one know the process I’ve been through.

A little bit about me. I graduated from Community college with an Associate Degree in Web n Internet Services last year in May 2019. That’s a degree didn’t help me much in job searching. While I wasn’t really active on FCC, I did read a lot of posts about success stories and learn about people getting in the field without a 4-years degree. While I was in college, I often study to code on Udemy besides formal classes.

After graduation, it was really tough seeking for a job. I applied hundreds of applications only to get a few interviews that I failed. I even went to some meet up events to network with people. I reached out to people on the FCC group in Dallas and asked for help and advice. This was when I met Clint had helped me to refined my portfolio website. He also helped me seek out more opportunities.

I met an AVP from a GM financial company who said his company is hiring React Developer from any levels. I contacted him and he said if I could help him build a chatbot with the API he provided. After messaging back and forth, that API didn’t work out. I had to find another API for him and build that bot using Azure API and deployed it on the Azure cloud. I showcased him, he said he liked it and he’ll show it to his boss. But after that, he ghosted me for a long time (6 months) and then he came back to ask me to get a certificate. That’s frustrating and uncleared so I picked another route.