Guide the Newbie. Creating structure. Tips for success

Hi everyone,

Thanks in advance for those who take the time to answer.

I’ m totally new to coding, my background is health and social sciences, so this is completely out of my comfort zone. I’ve wanted to try coding for some time–needed a change of pace/ “scenery” and a challenge that can be/will be beneficial to my future (economical, different career path). So finally starting down that path but having issues “starting”

It maybe simple to some but how do you ground yourself/ structure yourself for success in coding? I feel like i’m all over the place. I see learn html, python, web development… This email tells me to learn this and that, another tells me, it’s this way. It’s all pretty confusing and causing a bit of anxiety.

where do you begin? i see the curriculum but does anyone have like a schedule they made/followed that they would like to share? anyone made a syllabus or something? i know this self taught, go at our own pace but i’m so used to having a concrete plan (like week 1: these 5 topics, week 2…)

for newbies and experienced persons:
how many hours a day, days/week do you set aside for coding that led to you successfully teaching yourself?

schedule examples, plans, “syllabus”, concrete advice welcomed

This forum is part of the freeCodeCamp community, so we’re overwhelmingly going to recommend using freeCodeCamp.org and just following their curriculum in order.

Hi @qbt2020! First of all, welcome to FCC!

I can relate very well since I experienced pretty much the same thing. You asked quite some questions, but the main thing seems to be a lack of structure and a lot of material (e.g. suggestions, resources, etc.).

In my opinion, you should first decide what you aim for. If you don’t quite know what you want to do, read/watch something about the different paths, then decide and commit.