Hello All I need guidance

Hello freeCodeCamp,

I currently have a project for employment opportunity, I have some basic java practice for on and off for about a year, and I have made one html page styled with css a few months ago, also I’ve had about a 2.5 months of JavaScript practice this year a lot of which i will need refreshers on, and I say all of this because I just was given a project with technologies that I have never used before Technologies dealing with back end, basically my first web app. I am hoping to be able to somehow share my project requirements for guidance on how I should make a step by step plan to complete this project. Im a bit inexperienced to the ethics of being a good developer but I have some general questions as pertaining to what is and isn’t good developer ethics and practices as well as possibly getting help for my assignment.

QUESTIONS

1. Is it viewed as “ok” or common practice for developers either professional or in some kind of training to make their project public on the web in order to get help? For example I do not feel comfortable just pasting a work assignment online however I very much need help. I am a bit confused as to since this project was given to me by potential employment if it is good practice to just paste my project on the public web and ask for help, maybe Im worried my potential employers will somehow know I am exposing inside material.
  2. Is it common practice to look up code online that has already been written for projects that are similar to or even identical to my current project? Im pretty sure this one is common practice just as long as you do not take another persons code line by line, i figure its ok to look at code similar to an assignment of mine just as long as Im learning for example of how to structure my code as far as classes, packages, front end to back end migration arraignments and such.