Hello fellow campers, noob here

Hello there,

Just wanted to introduce myself to the community. I’m a prospective career changer from 10yrs cooking. I’m hoping to use this platform as a legitimate way to change my circumstances and get a job one day outside of the kitchen.

I know it’s a long road ahead , I’ve spent some time here in previous years and finished up until the tribute page. This time isn’t much different other than the willingness to take a longer time to achieve my goals. (Before I cared more about the destination & therefore rushed a lot rather than the actual learning itself.)

I always wonder if I should go to school rather than to spend time on unaccredited certificates. At the same time I feel optimistic that experience trumps any degree and if I keep on trucking I will get results.

I used to program games as a kid using GameMaker and was even part of a team from Norway, so I think I have a good idea of what I’m getting into, I love being stumped on a problem and learning or googling my way out of it. I think if I were getting paid to do that I would be so so happy.

Anyways, if you have any words of wisdom please drop it on me, and to any other noobs out there feel free to reach out!!

1 Like

Yes, a degree would be more valuable. Should you do it? You have to answer that question yourself.

At the same time I feel optimistic that experience trumps any degree and if I keep on trucking I will get results.

True, and there are probably few fields where that is less true than in web development. That being said, without a degree will be harder/impossible to get. But there are also a lot of jobs where they don’t care - as long as you know what you’re doing and can show it. But I think there is an advantage to having a degree. Me, I didn’t have a CS degree and got a job - it is possible, but it is more difficult.