Help/advice - Should I stay or should I go?

Hi!

I need advice.

I am a physical education / sports science professional (although I do not yet have a job) and I am learning to program to apply for a master’s degree.

My idea is to use GPS data to (1) create a display of the player’s movements (very basic) and (2 - the main objective) to use GPS data to analyze collective behaviors using machine learning (based on distance between players, movement speed, etc.). I believe that I will achieve this with Python.

I’m almost done with the “JavaScript Algorithms and Data Structures” certification (because I’m a newbie), but I’m having some problems with some challenges (from the “intermediate algorithm script” course - I did 14 out of 21)

I don’t know if I will spend some more time completing this certification or if I already go to Python.

I’m in a hurry because I’m facing some pressure to find a job, so I can’t wait long (about 8 months) to learn this. If I manage to get into the master’s degree, I can get a scholarship that will pay me more or less what I would receive working.

And I study for 3-4 hours every morning, and 2-3 hours in the afternoon (Monday to Friday). Is it enough time to learn this?

Thanks!

What kind of master’s degree? If its a Computer Science master’s degree, programming is more of a secondary nature of the curriculum, with main focus on the underlying theory of computing. Or do you want to apply some programming to a Physical Education?

Where does the GPS data come from? From their phone? If such is the case, you will probably need to use multiple sensors to get an idea of what the person is doing, as GPS isn’t as accurate if your moving around in a small area. You could leverage something like a smart phone’s gyroscope, accelerometer and GPS together to get an accurate picture of what’s going on. Regardless you’d have to know what the raw data even means to gain any use out of it.