HELP! beginner python program

Hi, I am in my first semester of programming and I am sort of confused on how to do one of my assignments. My teacher is pretty picky on the way that our programs are written and will straight up give you a 0 if it is not correct. I know that for this assignment he mainly wants us to use the for and range functions but all the examples he gave us are dealing with only numbers. I am an example based learner and it is difficult for me to write a program simply off of definitions. If someone could help me with this I would be so grateful. And also, feel free to explain your reasoning for the way you choose to write it. I am not trying to cheat I am trying to learn!

THE PROBLEM:

Here the Code

SF = 26.97 #Salomon Fish
RS = 12.98 #Rideye Steak
SC = 4.96 #Sweet Corn
A = 5.92 #Asparagus
TP = SF+RS+SC+A #Total Amount
IP = [SF, RS, SC, A] #Item Price
ID = ["Salomon Fish", "Rideye Steak", "Sweet Corn", "Asparagus"] #Item Description
print("Item Description          Item Price")
print("====================================")
for i in range(len(IP)):
  print(f"{ID[i]}          {IP[i]}")

print(f"Your total purchase:{TP}")

Here the output
Capture
If this is not working you can tell me @emmak
Hope This Help

1 Like

Hey @AndrewAung11!

I am glad that you were to come up with a solution but it would be more helpful if instead you helped @emmak with how to arrive to the solution on their own.

I have edited your post to include the spoiler tags.

2 Likes

As you’ve not provided the input data type(list, tuple, dictionaries), I think I couldn’t help you with this…
Following links might help you to transverse through the list in python…
You can always ask here, if you face any problem

1 Like

Thanks. I am new so I don’t know many about this forum. :pray:

1 Like

Firstly, welcome to the forums.