Help - challenges/build-a-personal-portfolio-webpage

Hi guys,

I am new to freecodecamp and just started the second challenge.
I feel a bit out of my depth.

Is there a library for HTML, CSS, and Bootstrap that is easy to search?

I went to the get bootstrap page and found some info on building a nice looking navbar, but I have no idea what all the class and ID functions do.

<nav class="navbar navbar-default navbar-static-top">

<div class="container">
	<div class="navbar-header">
		<h1 class="navbar-brand">WPDES</h1>
	</div>
	<div id="navbar" class="navbar-collapse collapse">
		<ul class="nav navbar-nav">
			<li><a href="#about">About Me</a></li>
			<li><a href="#skills">My Skills</a></li>
			<li><a href="#work">My Work</a></li>
			<li><a href="#contact">Contact Me</a></li>
		</ul>
	</div>
</div>

There are so many references to the navbar, that I have no idea what to reference to put in my own style.
That made me realise that I also don’t have all the knowledge in CSS to build what I want.
The first 4 courses just before the challenges, doesn’t leave you that well prepared.

I guess this might be the idea. Throwing you in the deep end. So back to my original question.

Is there a library for HTML, CSS, and Bootstrap that is easy to search?

Thanks for all your help in advance.

Hi @JanvdW1983 ,

What I would suggest you to do is to try learning what each class of boostrap is doing to that navigation item.
Try removing some classes and see how the navigation changes. I would also use web developer tools to see what peoperties each class has.

This is basic in bootstrap and if you understand it, you will win on the long run.

What I usually do to overwrite the styles is that I create another CSS file which I’ll link underneath bootstrap and then in this file I write my own CSS.

If, for example you want to change the navbar’s background color, you’ll write in your CSS, something like this:
.navbar-default{
background-color: orangered;
}