Help with planning the simon game

Hey everyone,

Im trying to create this game using React as practice. However when it comes to building things from scratch I have trouble planning things out. Like what should be a class component? What should I have as states? I’ve included my pen nothing works now just a shell. Just have trouble with what needs to go where and how to approach making this game with React. https://codepen.io/SangT/pen/GExBzz?editors=0110

Not trying to sound like a dick, but if you don’t know where to start, maybe this is above your pay grade.

That being said, I’m no expert but, without delving into your code, my approach is usually logic -> layout -> prettification. I do a minimal layout just to get started and then I work through all the logic, making sure I can make it work. I go step by step, testing every step of the way. Then I work on the layout - make sure everything is positioned the way I want. Then I prettify - make sure all the fonts and colors and borders are what I want. (It always amazes me when people ask for help and they’ve clearly spent hours and hours on the layout and fonts and colors but don’t even know how to begin on the logic. To me, I want things as spartan as possible when I’m working on the logic so it doesn’t get in the way.)

That being said, with React, you have to plan a little so you know what the components are and how they will communicate. I would be thinking along the lines of:

app 
    header
    game
        lights
            light
        controls
            buttons
                button
            readout
    footer

That would be my layout. I would keep my state in game because that is the first ancestor of anything that needs access to anything (for me, header and footer are usually just static information.)