HI, I'm new to coding

Hi everyone, currently I’m a student studying in college first year and major in Computer Science. But I feel so frustrated each week when I do my assignments. I’m a hard working student and I’m willing to learn well in this field. But sometimes I really don’t have the idea of how should I study. It seems professors assume we students have to know basic knowledge about coding such as Java, Javascript. But it’s really difficult for me to catch up and study. Is there any suggestions that I can do or learn from? Or any tutoring course or people? Thank you for responding, I’m eager to learn well on coding and be a good programmer.

Hi there. First remember - you can do it. Now some suggestions:

• Spend time studying on freeCodeCamp - you’ll learn problem solving skills that are essential to computer programming. You’ll also learn how to be a web developer and have a strong understanding of Javascript.
  • Udacity has a ton of free video courses that’ll help you learn various languages.
  • Use MDN and the W3C Specifications to help you understand different concepts about the language.
  • Watch freeCodeCamp’s YouTube Videos
  • Ask your University for tutoring, they can help you find a tutor to help you.
  • Sites like the freeCodeCamp forums/gitter, and stackoverflow can also help you.
  • Your professor and/or his/her TAs can

I’ll stress again if you go through freeCodeCamp you develop a lot of problem solving skills and get into the programmer mindset. It’s hard work but it’s very rewarding and will hopefully pay off in your studies. Good luck with your studies and let us know the concepts you are confused on - we can try to explain it to you :slight_smile:

1 Like

Hey there!, First of all welcome to the community,
To be honest, the assignments didn’t help me in my coding at all, so yeah, it depends on how and what you learn, the assignments will not really help you.

This is just what I have planned for myself, hope it helps: