How could the design of these pages be improved? (Responsive Web Design Project Feedback)

Hello all,
I’ve been an amateur coder for a while working mostly in Processing, ChucK and more recently JavaScript. I’ve never been very good at HTML and CSS so I’m working through the FCC curriculum to fill in the gaps in my skillset and formalise my coding abilities.
Most of my work has been on little experimental music projects for my own use, so I’ve never really taken the time to practice good layout and design. I’ve never been a visual artist, so I still struggle with the basics of CSS and would love some criticism from some more experienced web dev people! I’ve finished the first two projects in the Responsive Web Design curriculum, and would love some notes on how they could be improved. Please feel free to be a little harsh. I know they don’t look great, so any notes on what could be better are very welcome.
Here are some specific questions that I could use help with, but any advice is welcome:
-What are your inital impressions of the aesthetic of each of these pages? What looks good and what doesn’t?
-I like the colour scheme and fonts on the Tribute page, but I don’t love the layout of the text below the image. How could this section be improved?
-I actually like the general direction that I’m going in with the survey page, but it’s definitely not looking great as it is. I’m not sure how to make the rendered text fit better with the look of the parchment paper. Would a better font choice make the difference here? Or is this a layout problem? Or both?

-Less specific to these projects: How did you improve your skills in design/layout? Any good reference texts/videos? Any good exercises/tasks to practice?

Tribute Page:

Survey Form:

Thanks very much for your time and for any advice that you have!

My first impression was… this person knows what they are doing, but from a stylistic perspective its a bit antiquated.

For what it’s worth the tools I use: