How did you get your foot in the door?

Hello!
I am an aspiring coder/dev (not sure what I want to focus on, yet). I’ve been getting advice from good friends that have been in the field for decades as well as scouring the internet for the past several months to figure out what my best and most successful path to a new career might be. To put it lightly, I’ve become so obsessed with figuring out exactly how to do this that it’s taken away from just DOING it. I was considering dropping $14k on a coding bootcamp, but after taking a prep-course (free, through a school), reading thousands of reviews and talking to a couple of employers, I found that it would have very likely been a big waste of my money. Many of the courses I found didn’t even touch on algorithms, let alone provide certifications pertinent to what was being taught.
The most forward advice I’ve gotten thus far is to get my A+, Net+ and Security+ certs first so I can try to get my foot in the door with an entry level help desk/IT/customer service job, which would be great! I have the 3 text book bundle on A+ by CompTIA sitting on my desk right now. I have also signed up for the FreeCodeCamp curriculum and started on the first lesson. I cannot believe how impressive this curriculum is! It provides FAR more material than any bootcamp I considered spending lots of money on, as well as the certificates needed to actually be employable! That, in addition to the FreeCodeCamp curriculum has me feeling like this is impossible! The courses all add up to 3000 hours, which would take about 2 years of 40hr work weeks to complete. Should I go in order, or should I get anything specific out of the way, first? Are A+, Net+ and Security+ really good certs to spend my time on to get an entry level job? The friend that suggested this has a really good career in development and told me to start there as far as entry level goes, but I’d love more feedb