How do you develop React Native apps?

I guess my question is whether or not you use the Android or iOS simulator to work with React Native apps. I have a MacBook pro that I’ve been using for a couple of years now (like 4 years give or take) and running the iOS simulator seems like a pain, it’s way too slow.

Running react-native run-ios to start the simulator for the development process takes forever, like 15 minutes or more. Then after it’s finally up, my MacBook feels slow, it’s very annoying. I’m using xcode for the simulator BTW.

I was wondering if anyone here has experienced the same and found a better way to work with React Native.

Would it be just better to use my Iphone instead of the simulator? Is this related to launching the xcode app by any chance?, is Android simulator lighter?

1 Like

I loved learning RN, but getting the environment set up was ridiculously difficult. Seriously, it took weeks. And it’s still buggy.

I think there is something wrong with your xcode setup, but sorry, I can’t help you with that.

Most things in RN are roughly the same for most things. I would go ahead and develop on Android and then test on iOS once you’re there.

1 Like

It doesn’t throw any error, everything seems to be fine.

However that’s not what I’m supposed to see on the screen (I only have an input element and a button, not that text), the simulator looks like it’s frozen because I even press the home button (in the hardware tab) and nothing happens. My guess is that my machine is too weak to run the iOS simulator, if that is the case then I find it a bit ridiculous to be honest. I mean you will need a freaking super computer to develop RN apps?

I’d like to know if this is related to the xcode app, I might try the Android simulator and see if it works smoothly.

BTW, do you use the simulator or launch the app directly on your phone? Or you don’t use neither and instead just use the browser (although the latter wouldn’t be native code?)