How do you usually study for web development?

Hello everyone.

Recently I started to study the web like HTML and CSS and I started to ask myself if I am studying the right way.

I am curious to know how is the study process of the developers that already has experience or even those who are starting now in this field.

There is so many ways to learn nowadays like books, articles and tutorials on YouTube that sometimes I got lost in one or another.

Anyway, I want to read about how you deal with all this process and how is the best way for you.

Thanks, sorry for the grammar.

Looks like this is what you are looking for :wink:

2 Likes

If you are just starting, you should get some hands-on experience with coding. Many people start with Codeacademy. You’ll be coding straightaway and you will see the results of your work in the browser. Later on, if you enjoy it, you can look for more advanced study materials. There is so much material on the web that how you learn is really up to you. There are great free materials on Coursera, Udacity, EdX, Codeschool, Egghead and other places, if you like video tutorials. Personally I would avoid Youtube because you really have no guarantee of quality.

1 Like

A little piece of advice that really works for me when I want to learn programming is that when I follow tutorials I write the code myself. Testing it, changing it, adding code, removing code, even break it… This way I get a good sense of how that piece of code works.

There are many times when I am not on the computer and I can’t write code by myself, but I want to watch some tutorials, or read some articles in the field. But if I don’t practice that by myself, it won’t stick for a long time…

Well, this is me, and how I learn and practice. :slight_smile: Probably other peoples are able to learn better only watching :thinking: …

Have fun codding, this is really important. And never give up, even if it takes hours to understand a concept.

2 Likes