How does `console.log({target: event.target})` work in React?

I’m learning how you can use event.target to get the value of an input form in React.
If I write console.log(event.target), I can see the JSX form in the console.

However, if I write console.log({target: event.target}), I can inspect all the properties of the DOM object I’m looking at. Am I assigning event.target to a property on an object with no name? How does this work?

I’m studying this tutorial: https://egghead.io/lessons/egghead-make-basic-forms-with-react

The part I’m discussing starts at 1:02.

Without looking too much into it, I can tell you that there are ways to change how objects are displayed in the console. Since event.target is a React component, it’s likely that Facebook engineers have customized its console output to display the JSX version as a string because this makes debugging much easier. When you pass an object literal, the console representation would be different, probably calling JSON.stringify on itself, including all of its children. This would give you a more conventional output for event.target only when it’s in another object. Try console.log(JSON.stringify(event.target)) and see if you get the same output.

Hey thanks for the explanation. I’ve been talking to some other people and doing some google-fu and what I’ve found mostly matches up with what you said.

I think this part you mentioned

Since event.target is a React component, it’s likely that Facebook engineers have customized its console output to display the JSX version as a string because this makes debugging much easier.

It’s actually just a quirk of console.log rather than something engineered by the React team.

This is from the console.log doc:

Please be warned that if you log objects in the latest versions of Chrome and Firefox what you get logged on the console is a reference to the object…