How long does it take to become employable?

I am currently a law student who hates his life. I am thinking about changing over to development. I am currently studying Colt Steele’s course “web development bootcamp”. After I am done with this course, how long will it be before I am employable? I dont want to financially burden my parents anymore so I am thinking of moving back to my hometown, and working there as a remote/ freelance developer. How many years will it take me to learn ho to become a competent developer?

1 Like

i don’t know about freelancing or remote but you can gauge your competency by applying for jobs

Hii, I am right now became burdurn for my parent, I am unemployment and unable to earn die to exams, I feel bad and looks for somewhere for hope.
Whereas to and do?

Too many variables to say for sure. If you put in a lot of time most likely between 6 months and 1.5 years

2 Likes

can you tell me your story about what you do and how you got to doing it?

Sure. I’m about 9 months in, studying about 6 hours a day. I am at the point where I’ve started applying places and have made two websites for friends.

The study materials I’ve been using are freeCodeCamp, FrontEndMasters courses, YouTube videos, a few free books/docs, and colts web dev bootcamp.

I did take a few intro to comp sci courses in college so it wasn’t my first time coding.

2 Likes

Have you gotten any paid gigs yet? Also, what do you do for a living?

I got paid for both sites (although it was at a steep discount due to my limited experience). I was in finance full time before I realized I was more passionate about coding. Now I’m doing part time accounting work to pay the bills while I study/try to transition.

Do you plan to get a coding job (non remote) or free Lance or get a remote job? Also, what is your current hourly rate?