How to do the Stand In Line challenge?

Okay, this is a perfect example of FCC being HORRIBLE at explaining what to do and how to do it lol. This challenge is impossible, I have no idea where to even start. Im pretty sure the reason I cant figure it out is because NOTHING IS EXPLAINED as far as how to do it!

Thereā€™s no instructions at all. Their ā€œinstructionsā€ are just guidelines of what theyā€™d like the outcome to be. Rather than an explanation on how to do it. In addition, the instructions assume that total beginners already know what their doing but Iā€™ll tell ya, Iā€™m looking at this code and I have no idea where to even start. My apologies for sounding ā€œrudeā€ but its frustrating.

Okay understandable and thank you for the explanation, although I think it would be wise for FCC to display that info somewhere then. Because Iā€™m not the only user whose had this problem with FCC. I think the main issue here is thereā€™s only 1 instance of each challenge. For example in 1 challenge, you do 1 and learn 1 thing, and then the next challenege you do 1 and learn 1 other thing. The lessons do not build onto one another, and only being able to practice 1 lesson with 1 problem, thatā€™s not going to help a beginner understand whatā€™s actually going on. Nor does it help develop the necessary mindset that one needs in order to perform these kind of tasks.

Okay, no that makes total sense actually. I appreciate you taking the time to help me out here with this challenge. I just did some research on how to complete each step and Iā€™ve got a better understanding now. Also, Iā€™ts free education so I guess I canā€™t be too picky about these things. Thanks again.

1 Like

Iā€™ll be honest, Iā€™m still really stuck. Even after looking over the previous lessons for the push() method and everything, I still canā€™t figure out what to start writing.

Below is my first step

nextInLine([2], 1) should return 2