How to evaluate my learning progress?

Hi :slight_smile:

I started learning to code on January 4th, 2019. FCC seemed like a good place to start and it was. In the past two months I managed to get the responsive web design certification (although I am not really satisfied by the outputs and I am thinking of reworking on them and adding JS… but that’s another story) and the JS algorithms and data structure one. I have also been taking the CS50 intro to computer science on edx, following the lectures and working all the problem sets. And it sure is a good stretch for the mind and it is helping me understand key concepts about programming.

I feel that I am progressing, but slowly. Really slowly… and I am starting to have these doubts that maybe I am not on the right track, that I am not learning the right way.

This is really the tricky part about self teaching yourself to code: You are the one creating your curriculum and taking it at the same time…

How do you guys evaluate your progress? and what are some tips to deal with these doubts, this feeling of being an imposter?

You’ve been studying for less than 2 months. Think of anything else you’ve learned and where you were after just 2 months. Music, a language, skateboarding, chess, whatever. You’re learning a lot during those early months, but you’re also just getting the foundations. Don’t worry about progress yet. You know that you’re putting in the work and learning the fundamentals.

If it takes 10,000 hours to be an expert in anything, and you work: