How to go on with my career

Hello everyone,

i need some advice on how to go on with my career.

I am an Automation Engineer.
That means I studied Industrial Automation.
I developed PLCs and Industrial Applications for around 10 Years.
I got into leadership, and for five years, I have led a team in the manufacturing Execution System environment.

So I went from programming PLCs and Industrial UIs to leadership.

But since my studies 15 Years ago, I have always wanted to do software Development.
Some maybe say, “but you programmed PLCs” … yes I did, but for me, this is not software development … nowadays, you would call it low code…
Some ifs and elses, and that’s it, most of the time, you handle Hardware and Sensors.

Now I lead a team where we mainly operate applications and work on concepts that are programmed externally. So all the fun is done somewhere else.

For years I just dreamed around, and now I want to change something.
I want to go into Web Development.
So I have pretty good basics in the theory of programming, and I know HTML & CSS well, and I have basic knowledge in C# & Javascript.

My psychological hurdle is the past 15 years, where I gathered a ton of experience. Is that valuable if I switch to web development, or do I start from zero?
Am I making a big mistake with this career path?

Kind regards

it’s hard to tell honestly, but is there any way to switch while still making use of your expertise in PLCs? (for eg is there any position in your company that would require web development and the knowledge you have to some degree to be successful?)

In my current company there is no chance.
We give all the software development to external companys.
The Industrial enviroment is kinda difficult when you mention “Web” everybody is crying Danger !!!