How to Grow as a 13 year old Web Developer in Training

Hi internet and FCC! First, a little background. I am a 13-year-old web developer in training. I have been hired twice for my CSS and backend skills. I learned on Udemy, FCC, CodeSchool (which merged with PluralSight), and also have completed HTML and CSS fundamentals on the Cambridge Certificate Authority website. I have been homeschooled most of my life, but now I go to school, which is a big change and has thrown me out of the loop web development wise.

Anyway, I have been struggling with web development as a whole since starting school, and I have trouble focusing. I have tried every course I have, and either I have already learned the topic, it doesn’t work :frowning: or I just get bored of it. What should I do?

Your friend, Mr_Nobody1166

1 Like

I’d say, don’t force yourself and enjoy the student experience while you can. Being a social, well-adjusted individual is just as important as being technically good individual, and school is an important training ground in forming these social relationships and honing these personal skills.

Which is not to say give up on web development, but don’t put too much pressure on yourself. Let your interest drive your learning rather than learning as a mean to a career goal.

Build projects related to your interest, interest beyond web development. For example, people build recipe reader and shopping list apps because they enjoy cooking, other enjoy movies so they build recommendation engines for movie. Passion a lot of time can sustain and drive you through struggles.

Your best method is simply learn by doing and repetition. If you run into problems, tutorials and stack overflow is your best friend. Don’t be afraid to ask for help, it’s not a sin to struggles sometimes.

When you think you learned something, try teaching it to someone else. If they cannot learn it effectively, then maybe there is gaps in your own understanding that inhibits knowledge transfer.