How To Make Front-End Game into Online Multiplayer

Hi All!

I’ve recently created a little front end game on Codepen that’s very similar to the popular Wordle game, but with several key differences. One of them is that it’s a two player game, where player 1 will set the wordle for player 2, and then player 2 will have to guess the wordle and will receive a unique score based on how many tries it takes to guess and whether or not and “helps” are used. There are three rounds, and you only have 1 minutes (or 1.5 if you use a “help”) to guess the wordle that your friend set.

Right now I have it working fairly well for two people who are physically in the same space and can play on the same phone. My goal, as part of my learning, is to take this game and put it on a website and add functionality so that players can either quickly create an account and play with their friends, or else sign in with their Facebook or Google credentials and play with friends that way.

I have ZERO experience on the backend though. I just know some HTML, CSS, Javascript, React, and jQuery but am still very new even with these. My question is, what would be the best way to go about making the app truly online multiplayer? What backend language would you recommend for this? Is it something I could learn to code myself and set up within a month? If I have someone else do the backend from say Fiverr or Upwork.com how much would you estimate it would cost?

Thanks in advance for any feedback. Several people have played the app and really like it, and suggested I turn it into an online multiplayer game so just trying to think of the best way to do that.

Bump. Any advice or tips?

Yep. So you definitely need a server, but because of the nature of the game, you don’t need anything hugely complex for the basic functionality (albeit “complex” is relative).

Yes. I think so. Javascript is fine. Any language is fine, but you’re already familiar with that one so it makes sense to stick with it.