How to use API?

So I don’t know if this fits here, as I am very new to coding and this might be an advanced topic.

If you ever try to access Reddit on an amazon echo, when you give it a subreddit, it reads out the first three results on that sub’s ‘hot’ page. The ‘hot’ page changes multiple times a day and so the results are ever-changing.

So I was curious as to how one would code something like that so the link is not static. I asked around on Reddit a bit and was told it uses the Reddit API but not much else.

1 Like

Did you look at the API docs?

Have you done any projects using an API before?

Do you know how to use fetch?

Learn Fetch API In 6 Minutes

Do you know how to get the data from the API onto the page?

Learn DOM Manipulation In 18 Minutes

As long as the API returns new data you really do not have to do anything (other than re-fetch) to get the latest threads. There is apparently also a web socket endpoint for listening in real-time for new data (for example for new posts in a thread). But I have never used it.

Here is a quick simple example (because I apparently had nothing better to do).

1 Like

Yeah, I viewed the API code this morning around 3 am so I didn’t really understand much, but I would look at it again.No I have never worked with API before so I really appreciate the small demo. Thanks a million for your help it was ver insightful.

1 Like

No problem, happy to be of help.

If you start coding and need help with it you can always ask here on the forum.

To code this functionality, you would need to use the Reddit API to retrieve the latest information from the subreddit’s “hot” page. Here’s a high-level overview of the steps involved:

1. Get a Reddit API key: To access Reddit’s data, you’ll need to sign up for a Reddit API key. This key will be used to make requests to the Reddit API and retrieve the data you need.