How to use this git repo?

Hi, this is my first time using js so bear with me (I’m an experienced python programmer).

How am I supposed to use this repo in js: GitHub - omerdn1/otter.ai-api: Unofficial API for Otter.ai

I installed the package with npm and created the setup script (and updated it to fit my login info), but I’m getting a SyntaxError: SyntaxError: Cannot use import statement outside a module at the first line import OtterApi from 'otter.ai-api';.

I’m totally lost. Don’t know how modules work in js. Would greatly appreciate your help. :slight_smile:

You can’t use ES Modules in Node without jumping through some hoops (or maybe using the latest version?)

Try changing the import statement to:

const OtterApi = require('otter.ai-api')
1 Like

Thank you for the response!

This seems to work as the error is no longer there. However, I’m now getting a separate SyntaxError (which is may be unrelated to the first error?): SyntaxError: await is only valid in async functions and the top level bodies of modules.

This is from the following code:

const OtterApi = require(‘otter.ai-api’);

const otterApi = new OtterApi({
  email: 'email@example.com', // Your otter.ai email
  password: 'abc123!#', // Your otter.ai password
});

await otterApi.init() // Performs login

The error happens at the last line. Any ideas?

Yes, as the error says, you can’t use await at the top level (in your version of Node), it needs to be inside an async function. You’ll need to rewrite that line. I don’t want to just give you the answer here so try to come up with some solutions and do some googling and let me know if you can’t figure it out.

1 Like

I thought I had upgraded to the latest version of Node, but apparently running the installer on my mac didn’t upgrade it. Must be because I might have installed it with brew a while ago. Anyways, I just upgraded to v18.1.0 and I’m still getting the await error.

My current guess to solve it is something like this: