I am a C programmer , want to Switch to Web

Hi,

I have been working as basic C- Programmer for around 10+ years in support roles.
I don’t find myself building up anything myself interesting with the coding skills i have now nor i can freelance.

So wanted to switch career by learning website design and start building real websites for local vendors and slowly scale up my career. And having plans to establish my own company (if all goes well).

I need advice as of switching career after 10+ yrs of C experience to Web is advisable or a mistake. I do like to build up websites and web apps for needy people or businesses to startup initially. Also want to be confident in what im doing and teach others too and help them in their career building.

If it’s an area that interests you, then I don’t see why it would be a mistake. Of course, many of your skills will transfer well and will make learning web programming much easier, but I also encourage you to keep in mind that you will be working in a different technology set with its own advantages and constraints. If you’re new to JavaScript, it will feel very weird after 10 years of C development. Try not to compare apples to oranges. JavaScript was written for a very different context than C.

If you choose to stay in traditional industry employment, the need for web programming is only growing. As you observed, it is also better suited for freelancing. Freelancing and/or starting your own business gets into a whole different aspect of a career change that I can’t speak to with authority.

Hi Ariel,