I am learning java in college but I like python

Right now I am learning Java in college but I love working with Python/Django because of its simplicity I found that I do a lot of coding in java to get very small results especially for web development. Can I study python by myself, get a degree in Java and get a job in python :confused: is there any chance?

Programming languages are not mutually exclusive.

Learn and study whichever you enjoy most.

1 Like

Good day @SlimAidar.

Nice question.

I studied computer science and learned Visual Basic during my first year of University.
During my second year I learned C++ and during the third year I learned C#.
I had the choice to learn either Java or C++ but decided to learn C++.
Over the course of my studies, I learned HTML, CSS and JavaScript in my free time.

When I finished University, I couldn’t get a job where I would apply either Visual Basic, C++ or C#.
On the other side, those who had learned Java found something.
After applying on many occasions, I realized that I knew something and had done some web development projects.

The field of web development became an alternative choice and I could showcase my projects when applying for jobs.

I got a job 2 months after discovering freeCodeCamp and working for longer hours over those 2 months.

What happens if you learn Java?
You will still get jobs!

How?
Though applications trends do not showcase much of Java, Java is a hot skill since many applications will require maintenance from developers with Java skills.

Visualize it like this, though we have electric cars, there is still a need for mechanics with an understanding of old cars to repair them.

What happens if you learn Python?
You will still get jobs.

How?
It’s among the hot skills and the demand is high.

In summary, learn both. You never know where you might land in the years to come.

2 Likes

Learn both, it only increase how much you get out of college