I am so lost and I need help

Before I go on my rant I would just like to give some background on myself. I am currently a high school sophomore who has been learning about web development for the past 4 months I really hope to make this a profession by the time I graduate high school or maybe mid college. Lately it feels like I am not making any progress. I can’t do any of the projects online without seeking tutorials online that basically tell me the answer which kinda destroys the entire point of me doing these projects. I have no problem doing the algorithm challenges which really are not that challenging. But its the projects that I have trouble with especially the twitch project which I am currently on has absolutely nothing to do with what we leaning which is very stressful. I am just wondering if there are any resources out there to help me with my ordeals especially focusing on APis which I am having the most trouble with because I don’t really have any knowledge on how they work. Also any other forms of advice would be very helpful because I am feeling like I am heading towards my breaking point.

Yes, the projects deal with a lot of ideas that weren’t really covered in the lessons. Yes, most of us have felt exactly like you do right now. Yes, APIs can be a big pain in the ass. Yes, the Twitch project was especially a pain.

I would recommend googling a lot of these topics and start piecing it together. There are a lot of great youtube videos out there. I would create side problems to explore APIs. Just find some common APIs (for example) and just start messing with them.

And if you must, use the build tutorials. Maybe you watch them without coding and then see if you can recreate them. Or maybe you build them with the tutorial and then try to recreate them. The important thing is that you learn the concepts.

Relax. Keep at it. You’ll get there.

1 Like

Hello Ahenry80,

That is completely normal.