I can render Treemap on HTML, but not on JS ¿?

Hi everyone, and thanks for reading.

I finished the D3 Treemap project and all tests pass. I’m curious to know why the treemap renders when I program all of my code on Codepen’s HTML section, but not when I split it between the HTML and JS section (the interaction between both sections has been sort of a blind spot for me since I started learning)

The HTML has a

element to which I attach the SVG “canvas” (as I call it) and Tooltip elements.

Here’s my CodePen:

https://codepen.io/RodrigoHLC/pen/BaMBvym?editors=1010

You can try really quickly moving the corresponding code (starting at “const req = new XMLHttpRequest();” ) from HTML into the JS document listener ( document.addEventListener(‘DOMContentLoaded’, function() { --PASTE HERE-- }) )

which, to my knowledge, should work. Yet it doesn’t. Is anybody able to pinpoint the problem? If it’s of any use, I get an error message on the ".on(‘mousemove’… " line that reads “Uncaught TypeError: Cannot read properties of undefined (reading ‘pageX’)”.
In regards to external scipts/CDNs, all I have on this codepen is the D3 library.

Even though I pass all the tests, I’d really like to be able to make this work from the JS section, so I can then try to combine it with React (I want to use different states to render the 3 different APIs —Videogame sales, Movies and Kickstarters— and simulate 3 different webpages using a single-page app, but that’s a story for another time… If I can’t even get JS to render the treemap, I can’t move forward)

Thanks in advance to anyone who takes the time to at least read this!

req.onload=function(){ const

datos=JSON.parse(req.responseText)

put thet const down it will be fine…

1 Like

Hello Zaklina,

If what you mean is for my to write it all in one line, like this:

req.onload=function(){ 
      const datos=JSON.parse(req.responseText)

that didn’t work. Thank you for having taken the time to read and reply though!