I cannot get a new dev job, even though I have 2 years of job experience in the field

I am highly struggling to get any bites after submitting countless resumes and submitting countless apps. I mostly used LinkedIn, but I have also used Indeed and filled out apps on external links.

I lost my last job due to a mistake I made outside the workplace. I don’t want to elaborate, but I wasn’t arrested or convicted of anything, and this mistake has still followed me from place to place.

Ever since I lost this last position (in which I was making equivalent to $70k/yr), as I said, I am barely getting any bites at all.

Maybe it is due to a bad job market? Maybe it is because of the holidays? I don’t know.

could be a bad time yes. The hiring cycles ebb and flow and many people are too busy right now to actually follow up (maybe they will follow up in January).

you said that your mistake is following you from place to place. If true, have you considered writing a cover sheet to explain what employers should know about this?
It may help if you haven’t already.

1 Like

@hbar1st

Idk, what I did was really damaging. I embarrassed as to what happened.

Right now, I am unemployed. Sadly, I am very talented and skilled, but I cannot get a job in my industry.

Just my two cents but maybe work on your resume, do some nice projects and make your applications more personal for each company then copy and paste. Just what i’ve heard though.

1 Like

Thank you. I have a major project I have been working on, but I can hardly get anyone to participate. It is one of many projects I am wanting to do.

Feel free to take a look and provide feedback and critique it.

Sadly, some visit the site, but don’t provide feedback. Do I take that as if it is a bad project?

Don’t mention the incident at all in your cover letter or otherwise! Prospective employers can only ask HR in your previous company whether you worked there.

1 Like