I did my portfolio yesterday and I hate it!

Is it possible to scrap it and start over…

I am new to this and know I can do such a better job with more research and time.

https://codepen.io/Snave713/pen/PWBJNv/

Do you think I should scrap this??

1 Like

Of course!

I wouldn’t. Like you said it comes with time, so why would you start over right when you finish? Go on to the next couple and retouch it later. My portfolio looks like crap right now too, but I plan on fixing it soon.

3 Likes

You have tasted enlightenment. If you silence the voice in your mind telling you it’s wrong, you’ll be free to make ugly web apps until you know how to make beautiful ones.

9 Likes

I still haven’t made my portfolio yet lol.
Revise it as you learn more. It will get better in time.

if you planned to complete the whole front-end course then my suggestion would don’t put too much pressure on yourself for this project. End of the course you will learn a lot of new thongs and you will think differently eventually you will start from scratch

2 Likes

Feel free to scrap it and start over as many times as you want. The important thing is that you’ve finished your first “failure” on the project, and that you didn’t quit on it. Now you can focus on improving it or making a better one.

If you’d like to make a better project, feel free to. I don’t think the problem is with your HTML / CSS knowledge, I think it’s your design choices. I’d pick better fonts, have less awkward spacing, and some of the text doesn’t seem to go together with some of the colors of the images behind them.

Best of luck with whatever you decide, and keep coding!

4 Likes

My advice would be to have a look at other portfolio sites, to get more inspiration.
As @Pardemy394, things like Fonts and images can greatly enhance the visual of a site. Keep it up, don’t give up. As you learn more, you can refine the portfolio.