I Got a Developer Job!

I wanted to take a minute to explain a summary of my success using FCC. I will try to keep it brief, but I remember how motivational these posts were to me while I was in the process of trying to get my first developer job. Here is my brief summary:

• I started learning the basics of HTML, CSS, and JavaScript at the end of 2015. I used FCC, and cheap subscriptions to Treehouse and CodeSchool to help me solve challenges on FCC.
  • I spent at least 20 hours per week working through FCC and taking courses through CodeSchool and Treehouse. I used time after work and on weekends. I also spent time on CodeWars for extra JavaScript challenges.
  • After about six months, I purchased a domain and hosting and put up my portfolio (I would link to it but, unfortunately, I took it down after the I got a job to avoid the ongoing costs). As I was going through my classes and working through challenges I would try to implement the skills in some way on my portfolio site. Sometimes this was just linking to another page that displayed the skill. Other times, it was just implementing the skill/principle throughout the site.
  • In September, I saw a posting for Front End Developer at my local College (also where I earned my BS in Social Sciences in 2012). I decided to take the leap and put in an application.
  • I didn’t hear anything for about a month so I figured I was passed over, but then I received an email wanting source code submissions and for me to go through an online coding challenge (3 questions). I then received a call for a phone interview. After the phone interview, I was invited in for a panel interview that entailed both basic questions and then a longer technical interview with other web developers. A little over a month ago they offered me a job.