I got my 1st front-end job, and you can too!

Sorry for the long post in advance and thank you so so much for reading.

It was hard. Let’s just start there.

I think the biggest thing that may get mentioned but definitely doesn’t get enough emphasis is you need need need PATIENCE. I spent so much time second guessing my skills, my journey, my time, my effort just because I read that it was possible, but forgot that it was only possible with time.
In saying that, here is a little bit about me, my journey, how I received the new job and how you can to!

ME

I’ve been messing with HTML/CSS since about 2010, making small sites for a IT Repair business I used to work at. But I didn’t really make a jump for it until 2015 when I created a sites for a bigger client. That really gave me the confidence that I can do this and make a living, but even better, it reinforced how much I enjoyed doing it.

At the time of making that site, I wasn’t working and I needed money. Long story short, I started working with/for my father-in-law (FIL) who I lived with as well. I did termite inspections (crawling under raised houses, spraying for termites and checking for dry rot in wood on homes). I was getting $10/hr, 40hrs a week plus whatever my FIL wanted to give me under the table. When I was at home, I was basically my FILs personal assistant. Loved that guy. He passed away last summer and it was tough on my family and I. Luckily I got another job as a Help Desk Tech for a local hospital. On top of that we had to move out the following month as we could not afford to live at the home without the help of my FIL. So off to my brothers we went; my wife, son, daughter, and soon to be born daughter.

Things were tough.

My job was barely keeping us afloat. Thankfully my brother was very giving and let us stay with him