I have no clue about what should i write about in the Technical Documentation project

So, I saw the example page (a technical documentation of Javascript) and I really don’t know what to write about. I’m just learning HTML and CSS, so I have no knowledge of any of these other languages to write a proper documentation about them.

I looked at the MDN’s page on Javascript to compare the contents of the example page, and I saw that it wasn’t just a copy/paste job in terms of content (meaning that the person who wrote it knew what they were writing about, as they knew what to focus on, how to explain things, etc., which i still don’t, unfortunately).

I’m at a loss here and I haven’t even started the project (I just created a folder on my pc for it - as I’ve been doing for the other projects - and created an index page on VSC to start coding the page). I don’t know if simply copying the contents from another page/doc is a valid idea (and personally, I would like to avoid doing that, if possible) and even then, I’m afraid to screw up something.

You could create a documentation about pokemons, Harry Potter or Marvel superheroes. It really doesn’t matter. You just need to stick to the HTML structure to make tests pass.

1 Like

This might sound like a stupid question, but by “technical documentation”, could it be like a manual to a game or something like that?

Objective: Build a CodePen.io app that is functionally similar to this: https://codepen.io/freeCodeCamp/full/NdrKKL.

The key words are “functionally similar”. The content doesn’t matter much. You can fill it with placeholders. The goal is to create a page with sections and a sidebar to navigate to those sections.

1 Like

I see. Now that i think about it, i don’t remember seeing a lesson that teaches how to make a sidebar like that. I imagine i’ll have to dive into w3schools’ and MDN’s websites to know how to make it work. It was the first think that took my attention when I saw the challenge.