I just created a project 23,000 lines long

Hello all,

My name is Cameron Burkholder, and I’m a front end developer (you can find me here). With all of the buzz about the 100 days of code, I decided to join in as a way of improving myself. While I didn’t push to Github every single day, or code for exactly an hour each day, I did code daily.

At first, the only real products of this were several small projects for myself, and the redesign of some of my front end cert projects. My projects were all based in Bootstrap, and the more I used it the more I got to thinking. Bootstrap is great for creating components like wells, navs, lists, buttons, etc. You already know the like. With building each project, I got frustrated with the amount of CSS involved in styling these components. Why couldn’t Bootstrap make responsive styling easier?

For me, I tend to lean towards the Atomic CSS model. You know, tiny CSS classes that apply extremely specific styles. I started looking for something with the power of Bootstrap’s components, but easily supported responsive atomic classes. Maybe I didn’t search hard enough, but I couldn’t find anything. So, making a profound over-estimation of the difficulty, I decided to build my own.

I called my framework Rose, and I’m not gonna lie, its not that good. As I started, the first thing I thought needed to be done is lay out class syntax. I settled on what I call the Display - Trait _ Size system. Essentially, I divided screens into 5 sizes. Monitor (>1824px), Desktop (>1224px), Laptop (>990px), Tablet (>480px), and Mobile (anything less). I assigned these displays a display prefix: monitor and desktop: lg, laptop: md, tablet: sm, mobile: xs. That is the Display system. The Traits are commonly used styles like position, color, border-size, etc. Finally, Size is the size, also given the lg, md, sm, and xs suffixes.