I know C++-99. Are there couses to update to newer C++?

I have about 15 years of experience coding in proprietary embedded environments in the original C++ (C++ 99?). I have even more experience in K&R C.

I have been given timed tests that assumes C++11 or newer, and I don’t do very well on them. I am looking for a formalized resource that can give me over the gaps between the old and new C++ variants. Starting over learning Inheritance would not be helpful.

For examples: the tests I have been given assume stdio has overloaded ‘>’ and ‘>>’ operators. Also _main(int argc, char **argv) seems to be obsolete as of C++11.

A lot of the stuff I’ve seen out there seems to assume that if you’re familiar with older C++, then you can just look at a list of feature changes and a handful of examples and understand what changed. I’m not really aware of any formalized resource that walks folks through the changes.

Best bet is probably Googing around and clicking through a ton of results. This looks ok, for example
https://lhcb.github.io/developkit-lessons/first-development-steps/05a-cpp11.html

(I think it was C99 and C++98 were the two standards released at that timeframe)

We used C++ as our primary language back when I got my CS degree in '94 so I must be the OG of C++ :slight_smile: The first international standard was published in '98, known as C++98.