I'd like to create an app to get better at coding, and I would like it to be about mental health. Good idea or no? How to get started?

First let me say how grateful I am for the help I have already received on Reddit. Great community. I have already Googled this question but I’d like to go more in depth.

• I’m aware that there are already apps like this like Calm on the market, but I am not a pro dev (yet) I want to do this for the experience.

• I’m self-taught, making my way through various online resources. Most people I’ve spoken to tell me to get my hands wet and actually code something instead of just doing projects - something that really takes me out of the theoretical into the practical.

I am a longtime sufferer of mental health issues, so this was a no-brainer. I could also make a small game or tune an existing app (I’m currently using a few that I wish had greater functionality)

My idea for this app would that it would send a notification at certain times to ensure the user does self-care, has enough sleep, exercise and makes sure to love themselves. A simple implementation for my first project.

• I would probably use either Python or Java as I am familiar with both languages.

• How do I actually get started? Fire up Android Studio, write code and then put it on Github? Is it ok if I take from existing source code as long as I ask permission first?

THanks for your time.